my new scarf

I had a $25 American Express gift card that I received from my company as part of an award for one of the projects I worked on. And it had been sitting on my desk for the past 4 months unused.

One day, I decided to slide it into one of the slots in my wallet so that I could use it whenever I fancied. That very same night, as I was walking home, I decided to take a detour and drop by the Zara on 18th Street and 5th Avenue. Lo and behold there stood a $29.99 scarf that I just had to grab off the rack. Soft, fluffy and with colors and a visual texture that reminded me of a burlap sack, I could not let it go. It seemed like the perfect time to swipe that gift card at the counter.

I ended up paying only $6 on my debit card for this scarf. (And it would have only been $4 if New York City hadn’t recently implemented a 4.375% sales tax on clothes under 100 bucks. It used to be 0%!) But, still, a pretty sweet deal. πŸ™‚

I’m wearing some Jeffrey Campbell logger boots that I found at Daffy’s in my size! 50% off normal price, yey!

Leave a Reply

