weekend outfit + early valentine’s at savoy

Theory leather jacket, H&M gray cotton tank top, Zara cotton pants, Forever 21 chain necklace, silver and cream oxfords from Tremp

 

We had lovely 56 degree weather this weekend! And because I did not have to layer on cashmere sweaters and don a wool coat, it was the perfect time to wear my leather jacket out. πŸ™‚ Yey! The jacket was a bit of a splurge (the fact that it came from Theory attests to that), and it took some coaxing from resident B.I.s (bad influences) Henry and Aldrich to get it, but I went ahead and swiped that debit card for this beauty. And I don’t regret it. πŸ˜€

We celebrated Valentine’s Day early (on Sunday) because we figured Monday would be busy (and it was! I was at the office until 9:30pm, sniff sniff.) So that was really good foresight on our part haha! We had dinner at the Savoy restaurant in SoHo. A quaint restaurant that had a very homey vibe. It made you feel like you were just over at a friend’s place having dinner that he prepared for you. Except, of course, rarely do we have friends who can actually cook like this. (I am lucky to have such a rare friend named Alec though! I can still remember the ikura-topped salmon on risotto he made for us back in September.)

Anyway, we got uni bruschetta as an appetizer, and it was meh. The bread tasted like it had been sitting in the kitchen stockroom. I guess I was hoping for the uni’s taste to come out more. For entrees, I got the special for the day, which was fluke on squid ink risotto and Aldrich got the roasted wild striped bass, pancetta, caramelized brussels sprouts and roasted shallots. They were both really tasty! While the risotto very much carried my dish (the fluke had a beautiful texture but not enough taste), Aldrich’s sea bass had a lot of flavor. The vinegared shallots also added an extra kick and provided a nice contrast.

Roasted wild striped bass, pancetta, caramelized brussels sprouts and roasted shallots

 

We also had french fries (yes, french fries) on the side, just for kicks. I’d read from reviews that their homemade ketchup was amazing so I had to try it! And the ketchup really was great πŸ˜€ I’m a huge ketchup fan, and despite looking like your average Heinz, it had a fresh-from-the-farm taste to it that really set it apart. Yum.

Dessert was great too. We got the cashew chocolate tart and it was nom nom chocolatey! There was caramel sauce underfoot and small crystals of salt sprinkled inside the tart that randomly surprised your taste buds as you went along πŸ™‚ I liked that they did that, I’m not quite sure Aldrich did though, but salt and chocolate is a good combination for me any day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

