early valentine’s at nougatine

Had an early Valentine’s dinner at Nougatine with Aldrich last night, yey! He made a point to say it was only Part 1 of the celebration. Can’t wait to see what else we’re doing next week!

He came with flowers in pretty pretty colors last night. I’m excited for the lilies to bloom. My sister loves stargazers, and maybe her love for lilies has rubbed off on me too. So, we started off the night with drinks at the lobby lounge of the Mandarin Oriental. Man, those cocktails were strong. We both felt the buzz after only one each. Haha, at least you definitely got your money’s worth. Then we headed to Nougatine which was only across Columbus Circle. (Definitely some good date planning; guys take notes!)

Since it’s still Restaurant Week, we got the restaurant week menu. I had the grilled Gulf shrimp with butternut squash for starters, the beef tenderloin with garlic, parsley and chili for the entree and the pineapple upside down cake with basil ice cream (yes, basil ice cream!) for dessert. I love how perfectly the shrimps were grilled (and how the butternut squash puree blended with the spices on the shrimps). The beef tenderloin had a flavorful outside, but was nothing special for me. It was good solid beef, but not anything extraordinary. I loved the unexpectedness of the basil ice cream with the pineapple upside down cake though. I will have basil ice cream again anytime! I wish I had pictures of the food, but they weren’t especially beautifully plated, and we didn’t have a good camera with us, so we just enjoyed eating them instead, hehe.

Aaaand this is what I wore to our date night. Of course, I had a blazer and a coat on top of this when I stepped out in the winter cold though.

Forever 21 fashion illustration print silk top, Joe Fresh black tank top, H&M ochre circle skirt, black leggings, Aldo suede booties, Forever 21 pearl cascade necklace, Glam rock watch

 

2 thoughts on “early valentine’s at nougatine

Leave a Reply

